Summer Exhibition at the Royal Academy of Art

I visited the Summer Exhibition at the Royal Academy of Art for the first time this year. There was a real selection of art and it covered every inch of wall space possible! I hadn’t heard of the exhibition before, however now that I know about it I might consider entering for next year’s summer exhibition. The only thing with there being so much art is that I think a lot of it gets lost among the crowd.

I was also lucky enough to meet a friend of my Grandmother’s who works at the academy making frames for the art work. He showed me the workshops beneath the gallery and I got to have a peek in at the school’s life drawing classrooms. This was so fascinating to see the historic sculptures they draw from, that have been specifically sculpted to highlight the muscles and human anatomy. I haven’t attended a life drawing class for about a year now, and this has definitely encouraged me to begin again!

Leave a Reply

